Week 8

IMG_0978Hey, My name is Kenny Reed and I live on the North Side of Minneapolis but I`m from East St. Louis IL. I came to Minnesota the summer of 2008  I was 14 at the time. My first year living here I didn`t really like it here but now I come to like it. I`m a senior attendant at North High School. This is my first job. I`m a very active person and I like to be on my feet moving around. I`m on the Football, Wrestling , and Track Team at North.

I got a job with Stone`s Throw Urban Farm through The Step Up Program. I told them I like to be active and outside so they placed me with the Farm. I started working on July 1st. The first day was a Monday it was warm outside and I was working for 7 hours. It was a cool first day- I learned how to use some garden tools and I got to use the tiller that was fun. I went home thinking “that wasn`t so bad”. That Wednesday I had to work 8 hours. It was hot and I had to weed. I really didn`t know what weeds were so it was kind of hard for me and very exhausting. When I left the bosses were still there I remember thinking to myself, “where do they get the energy? I thought I was active”. The next week I saw more plots and learned more things about gardening and every other week has mostly been the same. The first two weeks were just the hardest for me cause I didn`t really know what to do.

The only thing I dislike about the job is weeding and weed whacking. Other than that every thing else is easy to me.
What I like about this job of course is pay day, seeing everything come together when we’re done and the bosses are nice they try to make the hard days fun.

IMG_0982

  • Cucumber
  • Summer Squash
  • Carrots
  • Beets
  • Kale
  • Green Onions
  • Hot Peppers
  • Cippolini Onions
  • Dill or Cilantro
  • U-pick – Green Beans, Cherry Tomatoes, Herbs, Flowers

And a little inspiration for your kale: http://straightfromthefarm.net/2007/11/29/kale-and-bean-ragu/

Leave a Reply

