Week 11

IMG_0974Greetings viewers and subscribers, my name is Naly Moua an intern from Step-Up; a summer job program for those ages from 13-21 (16-21 if part of Step-Up Achieve). Today I am here to share a story that I would like everyone to hear about my experience on the farm, before I depart in a week, back to school. I do apologize for writing a long entry compared to the other posts but please do enjoy what I have to say in here.

Ever since I called back to Step-Up after previously missing their call about an open job position for me, it was already taken; I was very upset because it was a job over at the Science Museum. Two weeks later I received a letter from Step-Up about the new given job position they offer. As I read it, it said, “Stone’s Throw Urban Farm” the first thing I thought was “What is this place, a farm”? Because this was my first time hearing this name. I be honest I never really thought it was actually a “FARM”. I did a little research of the farm but I was still uncertain what it really was. In the end, it turns out to be a farm(its consider as a city farm)after my orientation visit, where I met Alex, Robin, Emily, Klaus and Eric under the hot sunny sun (of course it got too hot so we went under a tree).

What was more difficult was I had summer school, which clashes with my schedule with my job, but everything went alright. My work days at first was scheduled on Fridays and Saturdays on the first four weeks. Around that time all I said to myself was that “this isn’t so bad, I don’t know why my parents complained so much” my parents were immigrants from Laos and they were farmers. I am not a farmer but I do have little experience with farming. After the first four week, with my new schedule, that first Wednesday early at 7am almost 8am, I was late to work. I was upset with myself for my late tardiness previously and now; I told them I should quit if I can’t adjust to the expected time. At first I was certain they were mad at me because this is a serious job and a tiring one too, but instead they were cheering me up, saying I shouldn’t quit because they believe I can do it. I thought to myself, they’re right I shouldn’t give up now; I have to keep on trying.

After two-weeks of long hard working days and even till now, I now know how my parents had felt working on the fields. It was indeed very tiring and hot but it was worth it because I was able to gain some knowledge just working on the fields and communicating with my peers. But the best thing about this job is watching the growth and the success of our vegetables we had grown. And what do I mean by that? Think of it this way, farming vegetables or farming in general, is like nurturing a child. As they grow and develop, you get this happy feeling, that as a mother or father or brother and sister etc. You’re doing a great job raising the child, and your proud of that and wishes for their success in the near future. After thinking for a long time, questioning myself “What did I learn,What did I gain, How do I feel about this job, Do I want this as my career path”? I then came up with an answer, and this is how I feel about farming with Stone’s Throw Urban Farm. Its like a day care, taking care of many kids, caring for them, constantly watching over them(so they won’t get eaten or stolen) and loving them with special treatment so they’ll be able to make others happy in return.

Now I must end my story here, for I shouldn’t be writing this long but I do hope you all enjoyed it. One last thing I have to say before is that I would love to thank everyone, Alex, Robin, Emily, Klaus, Eric, John, Kenny and all the wonderful volunteers I met throughout my 3 months working here. Last comment, I would highly recommend everyone to come to Stone’s Throw Urban Farm especially on Fridays and I won’t spoil why you should come until you volunteer.

Again my name is Naly Moua and I would love to come by to this lovely farm and volunteer here again! Thank you for reading and have an awesome summer!

Leave a Reply

