Week 19- Last week of the regular season!

IMG_1131

We’re going out with a bang. This fall has been blissfully long and warm, so your last share will be packed with all sorts of abundance. But it’s finally fall now. I look out my living room window to the east, and the sun is just rising at 7:27. In the mornings, we’re bundled with sweaters and gloves. But still no frost! This Saturday, we hear.

It’s always a little baffling to sit at the end of a season, looking back. How did we pass 19 weeks together in such a short, blurry amount of time? I do hope that we’ll see many of your faces back at the table next year, so we can continue our conversations.

As Klaus and I get ready to move to Windom and start Whetstone Farm, our new rural venture, I’ve been reflecting a lot about the community aspect of this CSA. I feel sadness at knowing that I, personally,  won’t see our members face to face each week- I truly enjoy our conversation, the chance to watch your kids grow up. But CSA is more than just a way for the farmer to feel good about the customers, and vice versa, right? I do hope that we’re building something more lasting by giving people a chance to interact with their food. I do hope that our tiniest members remember running up and down the rows of cherry tomatoes, reaching for pungent leaves of basil, even when they are grown. I hope that we can provide a space to support other small, local producers, by turning our pick-up location into a mini-market. I hope that our members talk to each other, get to know each other, connect over shared experience. And I hope that our members can be called on to support us in this difficult endeavor of urban farming, which is certainly not going to stick around if we don’t have support and political will. And I hope that, even though I won’t get to see your faces each week for the next few years, our expansion of Stone’s Throw will make us a more lasting presence in our community, will allow us to reach more people. And I hope that you all stick around to take the journey with us.

Thanks for an incredible season,Emily

Your share this week:

  • Green tomatoes
  • Potatoes
  • Carrots
  • Squash
  • Turnips
  • Watermelon radishes
  • Onions
  • Leeks
  • Kale or Chard
  • Cabbage
  • The last of the u-pick cherries and herbs
Leave a Reply

